“I’m too tired” And Other Excuses

I am really really tired. I don’t want to be writing this. I want to be sleeping.

But I am writing this because this blog is something I have committed to doing.

I went for a long time with no job and a lot of time on my hands to having two jobs with no time on my hands in a matter of days. It has been a bit overwhelming to say the least. I now have a lot more reasons to say “no.” Even to the fun things.

Remember my previous post about how to survive your lousy part-time position? Well, I forgot a crucial survival tip:

Do not waste your time off. 

I understand more than anyone that sometimes the perfect day off consists of lounging, hitting up your Netflix account, and eating ungodly amounts of your favorite foods. But these days should only come around every so often. When you have the option to do something fun – don’t just stay at home! I have been guilty of pulling the “I’m just so exhausted from work,” to get out of whatever plans I had made, and many times I have regretted it the next day.

Being tired is not going to ruin your day. In fact, most of the time, I find it easier to get through a long day of work after a night of seeing friends and having fun. Plus, everyone needs to take time to talk to people who do not fall into the category of boss, co-worker, or customer. We all need more than small talk.

This is my pledge to do something fun this week and get rid of the dumb excuses. Because it is all about moving forward and remembering that this is temporary. I am destined to be more than my part-time positions.

In the meantime, the hunt continues, my friends.

Leave a Reply

