My Current Travel Bucket List

This was indeed a dangerous post to write because now I want to go to every single one of these places right this very minute. But, alas, I don’t have the means. It’s a sad, sad story – one I have told too many times before.

So this one goes into the “long-term goals” category. For now, I will just look at pictures of these places and share them with you.

Without further ado, these the places I most want to go as soon as I can afford to do so:

Neuschwanstein Castle near Füssen, Germany

2090b01d-eec2-daad-905f-0ab5528b0382

The little girl in me just can’t resist this one. Who doesn’t want to see the castle that inspired Disneyland’s own? Plus, the story about the supposedly-insane king that built it is definitely a memorable one.

Aescher Hotel in Appenzellerland, Switzerland

aescher-hotel

I mean, just look at this place. There is just something about mountain landscapes that makes me go weak at the knees. Imagine taking a long hike and coming back to this quaint hotel built into the side of a mountain – that’s a perfect day in my book.

Green Lake (Grüner See) in Styria, Austria

gruner-see-styria32
This lake is surrounded by the Hochschwab Mountains. In the winter months, the lake is only a few feet deep, and the area is used as a park. Every spring, however, when the snow melts, the basin fills with water, and the park is submerged in crystal clear water.

Kandersteg Alpine Slide in Kandersteg, Switzerland

Tobogganing down a thrilling coaster with an insanely gorgeous view of the alps all around you – seriously, what more could you want?

Machu Picchu, Peru

Machu Picchu, Peru

Again, those mountain landscapes got me yearning, but the innovation of the Incan Empire also astounds me. If only I could be that smart. If only.

Angkor Thom, Cambodia

7ab5d98f8efcab186b5bed65d2577231

I first learned about this place in a World Religions class from high school. It seems almost other-worldly. I can’t believe there is a place that looks like this on the same earth as me. It’s temples are not like anything I’ve ever seen, so obviously, I have to see them.

Eilean Donan Castle in Dornie, Kyle of Lochalsh, Scotland

d2e9f1ede30ee2b1763f9933fa5c42e9

This combines my two loves: castles and Scotland. I had the privilege of traveling to Edinburgh when I was abroad, but that was just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the beauty of the Scotland. This castle is located up in the highlands – by far the most superior part of the country. And I mean, come on, just look at it.

jaðrárgljúfur Canyon in Iceland

mostbeautifulcanyon-wcth14.png

I recently found out it is a lot cheaper to travel to Europe if you stop in Iceland first. As soon as discovered that, Iceland has been on my to-do list. It just seems like a country of endless natural beauty. This canyon is not the only breath-taking sight to behold there.

Fairy Pools Walk, Isle of Skye in Scotland

fairy-pools-isle-of-skye-scotland-extreme-thing-for-outdoor-holiday-adventure-9.jpg

These crystal clear blue pools along the River Brittle were thought to be unnaturally beautiful, hence the name. People brave enough to endure the frigid temperatures also seek out the pools to do some “wild swimming.” Me, well, I just think they’re pretty.

Glass Igloo Village Hotels in Finland

MAJOITUS_Lasi-iglut_1.jpg

I am ready for summer to be over. I am sick of warm temperatures. Being all bundled up in a warm coat and wearing tons of layers while gallivanting around snowy mountains seems perfectly ideal to me. And who doesn’t want to watch the Northern Lights from their very own igloo?

Patagonia in Argentina

Rise.jpg

This one might be a bit ambitious, but I have always dreamed of going on an extended hiking trip. What better place to do it, than Patagonia?

Glacier National Park in Montana, USA

glacier-national-park-sun-rays-at-hidden-lake-x2

This one is probably the most realistic for me right now. Sometimes I just lay in my bed at night and think about taking a road trip to Glacier, camping out with friends, and taking gorgeous and exhausting hikes every day. Let’s make it happen.

 

This post has left me positively drooling. I might just do something reckless like buy a plane ticket that I can’t afford and go have the time of my life exploring the world!

Based on these picks, let me know if I should add any other places to my list in the comments below — and let me know the places on your bucket list!

 

One thought on “My Current Travel Bucket List

  1. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award | Post.Degree

Leave a Reply

