ANNOUNCEMENT: I’m Writing a Novel in One Month and I’m Terrified.

This has been a long time coming.

I first heard about NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, when I was in high school. Now that I don’t have to worry about school and rehearsals and projects and working 50 hours a week, I figured now was finally the time to put pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard.

This blog has been largely about discipline. Writing a novel has always been in the back of my mind, but so far I have lacked the time and even interest to pursue a story through to the end. Because that’s often the hardest part – the writing part.

Every November, NaNoWriMo encourages people all over the country to sit down and do just that – the writing part. The goal is to write 50,000 words by the end of the month. Whether they are coherently and beautifully written or gibberish/incomprehensible garbage, either way, at the end of the month, you will have 50,000 words at your fingertips to shape into whatever story you want.

50,000 words is a lot . . . That’s at least 1,612 words per day. 

This is going to be difficult.

This is also going to be amazing.

I look forward to really focusing on writing. I have the same nervous/skittish/excited feeling I always have whenever I am about to embark on a brand new all-consuming project.

I won’t have much time to post on this site during the month of November. But that’s ok. My goal this year was to be writing something every day, and I will still be doing that.

I also might not have a perfect novel in my hands by the end of this month, but I will have something. I will have 50,000 of my very own words. I hope they will be a novel someday. I hope I will get to share them with many people. The very thought terrifies me in the best way. I am looking forward to this more than I have looked forward to anything in a long time. 

I think Hank Green said it best in this video:

Creating is terrifying, all people are creators, and perhaps we are all terrified, but in order to conquer the terror inside, we must do the very thing that terrifies us in the first place – Create. Create constantly and unapologetically the very things that terrify us the most to share with other people, and share them anyway.

My novel might be shit. In fact, that’s a likely outcome. But there is no way that this experience will be shit because if I can create something that even one person might want to read, it will have been a success.

If you are at all interested in participating in NaNoWriMo or simply supporting this amazing non-profit, check them out at nanowrimo.org.

Leave a Reply

