May 2017 Book of the Month: FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson

Jfuriously-happyenny Lawson has a voice like no other, and if you’re looking for both laughs and some serious introspection about your own mental health, Furiously Happy is not going to disappoint.

I stumbled across this book at a good time. What on earth that means, I guess I don’t know, as I probably would have enjoyed this equally as much in, say, a few months or a year even. So, I guess, mostly what I mean by that is I’m glad to have read this book when I personally have felt a bit unstable in terms of mental health. Specifically, I’ve been wondering if I might be suffering from a form of anxiety (and here is not really where I’m looking to dive into that whole story just yet. Or ever. We’ll see).

And most of this book had me thinking, “Woah, I’m not nearly that bad” (which maybe that is wrong of me to think, but if you read this book, I think you’d find that Lawson wouldn’t be particularly offended). What she does is share everything, no matter how seemingly inconsequential or incredibly twisted — she voices it all. She’s so specific, and instead of pushing people away, I think it draws people to her even more. Not just the honesty is enticing, but the fact that she is able to explain herself so clearly allowed me to clear up some of my own shit. Multiple times I found myself thinking, “That’s not crazy, that’s just a typical Tuesday in my head.” So maybe that means I’m crazy, too, but Lawson is there again to tell me that it’s okay.

This book is so strange and so important. I recommend it for anyone, whether you suffer from mental health issues, know someone else who does, or just want to know more about what it might be like. Obviously one woman can’t speak for everyone, but reading about Lawson’s experiences definitely helped me. If nothing else, I learned something and laughed really hard while doing so.

My overall rating: ★ ★ ★ ★


Jenny Lawson, a.k.a. the Bloggess, has written two other books, Let’s Pretend this Never Happened and You Are Here. Check out her blog here. She’s truly, epically hilarious.

Leave a Reply

