June 2017 Book of the Month: Yeah, I Read Teen Fiction Again and Freaking Loved It

So stop giving me shit.

(Really no one is giving me shit, but for some reason I think it’s embarrassing to read teen fiction when you’re, you know, not a teen anymore, even though it definitely shouldn’t be).

The book, or books, I am talking about are A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin.

So many people at work are obsessed with these books and were constantly suggesting that I read them. I also found out several of my friends had read them and were in love with them. So then I read them and fell in love with them. Then I got my sister to read and fall in love with them, who then got her friend to read and fall in love with them. I think you get what I’m trying to say here?

The_ACOTAR_series

The genre is teen fantasy. It is heavy on romance and heavy on adventure. And I freaking loved it. It has become my new guilty pleasure and I’m not even mad about it.

Truthfully, I’m not too familiar with the mythology behind the story, but let me just quickly outline the plot:

Feyre, the 18-year-old daughter of an ex-aristocrat and the youngest of three sisters, finds herself hunting alone in the woods when she kills a wolf. Turns out, the wolf was really a faerie, and a human killing a faerie is majorly against the rules. One of the High Fae (faerie royalty) shows up at her door and offers her a choice: to live with him forever in the faerie territories (lethal to defenseless humans), or to be executed right there in front of her family. She goes with him, who she discovers is Tamlin, High Lord of the Spring Court, and gets caught up in some serious shit — some romantic, but mostly terrifying — when she discovers the faerie lands are under seige and have been for some time. Along the way she meets others, including Lucien, Tamlin’s right-hand man, and Rhysand, the extremely powerful High Lord of the Night Court and one of Tamlin’s greatest enemies.

Let me tell you, teen fiction has changed a lot since I was a teenager. Are you telling me the best they had to offer back then was Twilight? These publishers know their readers well (yes, it’s mostly teenage girls reading), and they’re finally focusing on making their young female protagonists as strong as they can.

Sure they aren’t as intellectually stimulating or whatever, but that’s not always what I look for in a book. This has drama, action and romance. It manages to portray falling in and out of love, the effects of trauma and depression, and friendship all with resounding truth and authenticity.

For me, it was a win.

And now I’m looking for more teen fantasy to peruse. Please send some my way.

Overall Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Leave a Reply

